Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Upcoming Events:


3/11-PAC/Laurie Schotz

3/18-Oratorical Contest Winners

3/25-WCS CAO/David Robertsen 


4/1-Chiropractic/Sarah Masterson


4/15-Friends of WCS & Boys Track & Field-Coach Matt Thacker

4/22-Warsaw Parks/Liz McKinley & Girls Tennis-Rick Orban

4/29-Mayor Thallemer & Softball-Coach Jim Speicher


President Rick Kerlin led our meeting. 

96 Optimists & guests:

  • Kris Shipley-guest of Juergen Voss.
  • John Robertson-guest of David Robertson.
  • Hannah Schutter-guest of Trina Hoy.
  • Warsaw High School Students of the Week:
    • Ana Hamrick
    • Evan Hansen
    • Chase Madsen
    • Michelle McCarty
    • Brad Nethercutt
    • Brayan Ortiz
    • Sara Perkins
    • Tim Rata 

New Members:  Ivan Schuler and Andrew O’Connell. 

Door Greeters: Pam Galloway & Michele Bickel. 

Prayer:  Ron Henry. 

Pledge was given to the American flag. 

Promise yourself was said in unison. 

Hail to Optimism was sung in unison. 

Birthday Honorees:  Mark Caruso, Jon Lippe, Pat Donkers and Jennifer Pyle.  Happy Birthday! 

Check Presentation:  John Sullivan presented a check in the amount of $500 to Tracey Akers for Boomerang Backpacks. 

Membership:  None at this time. 

Committee Reports:

  • Oratorical Contest-March 6th this year as part of First Friday’s downtown. Optimist will be set up from 5-9pm. Contact Jeff Owens for more information.
  • Car Show will be in May 17th this year. Make sure you sign up to help! 


  • Invoices for dues, please pay Doug Baumgardner.
  • Optimist International Video Contest is underway, if you would like to help our chapter with this project please contact Rick Kerlin or Brooke Hamstra. We are looking for volunteers on this project submissions are due by April 15th.
  • Warsaw Education Foundation-Community Quiz Bowl will be on Tuesday, March 17th at 7pm WCHS Tiger Den. They are in need of proctors.  Contact George Brennan for more information.
  • District Awards were announced by John Sullivan. Our club received recognition for turning all of our paperwork into Optimist International in a timely manner. Great job club!
  • Please add to your safe sender email list!
  • Are you on Facebook, be sure you go to our page ( and “Like Us.” 

50/50:  Akash Jain was the winner of $52 this morning! 

CEO Report:  None. 

Sergeants-at-Arms:  Jeff Owens and Dr. Steve Hollar entertained us: 

  • $1 Charge:
    • Kellie Malcolm for Fred’s game tickets.
    • Doug Baumgardner for KLA.
    • Sam Whitaker and James Layne for helping a guest unlock her car.
    • Joe Wilkey for being an awesome car judge, but not signing up to be a judge in our Optimist Car Show.
    • Jenny Lucht for being the only one to stand for winning the fastest and the slowest winners in a car show.
    • Coach Kessler was recognized by Jeff Owen’s nephew as he was in awe that Jeff knew Coach K. 
  • $Optimistic $1:
    • Akash Jain for his daughter’s Sweater Project’s success.
    • Fred Nieter for Steve Hollar’s table being left messy last week,
    • Andrew O’Connell for the Lady Vikings winning Semi State last weekend and for competing at State this weekend.
    • Jenna Secrist for her daughter, Rebekah Nelson, who got promoted to corporal in the Marines.
    • Marty Becker announced he will have posters soon for the Spring Concert on March 20th
  • 5 Things You Need To Know about….
    • Jonathan Fussle:
      • Smart/Flip Phone = Smart.
      • Email/Text = Email.
      • Favorite website = Yahoo.
      • Facebook/Linked In = Facebook.
      • Check/Online Bill Pay = Online Bill Pay. 


Warsaw Community High School Poetry Contest winners were our program this morning!  Clair Rich, Sarah Meade and Meredith Phipps shared their poems with the club.  The three individuals are all freshmen in high school and they did a wonderful job! 


  • Invite a Guest.
  • Clean up tables.
  • Next Week’s Program: Performing Arts Center-Laurie Schotz.
  • Next Week’s Guests: Warsaw Community High School Students of the Week.
  • Quote: “Choose to be Optimistic, it feels better.” –Dalai Lama XIV.